Laporte goal wins Carabao Cup for Man City

Manchester City won the Carabao Cup Final as Tottenham were undone by a late Aymeric Laporte goal at Wembley.
Laporte goal wins Carabao Cup for Man City | Carabao Cup

Man City have made this competition their own in recent seasons, winning four of the last five editions, and they move level with Liverpool as the most succesful team in the tournament’s history after lifting the cup for the eighth time.

Tottenham, meanwhile, see their 13-year trophy drought continue, having not won silverware since beating Chelsea in the 2008 final.

Aymeric Laporte’s header from a Kevin de Bruyne free-kick five minutes from time was enough to settle an entertaining game, which City controlled from start to finish.

The win saw City retain the crown for the fourth successive season, and is their sixth in the last eight seasons.

Related Posts