Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Sports Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohammed has disbanded the Football Kenya Federation and appointed a caretaker committee

FKF and BetKing part ways | Kenya
FKF President Nick Mwendwa addresses delegates during the body's Annual General Meeting at Safari Park Hotel Nairobi on October 5 2019. PHOTO | SILA KIPLAGAT

Sports Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohamed has announced the suspension of all Football Kenya Federation (FKF) officials to pave way for investigations into the federation’s finances.

A special audit of the books of accounts of FKF will also be carried out and subsequent frequent future audits taken.

The Government of Kenya should invoke Article 17 and 58 of the FIFA Code of Ethics (2020 edition) by informing FIFA Secretariat Investigation Chamber on the outcome of the Inspection,” Amina said.

No bank account should be opened by FKF henceforth unless authorised by the [Sports] principal secretary within the six-month period the caretaker committee will be in place.

The CS said FKF won’t receive funds from the Sports ministry “unless and until the previous funds are fully accounted for”.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Members of the FKF caretaker team are Justice (Rtd.) Aaron Ringera, General (Rtd.) Moses Oyugi, Fatma Adan (Hodi), Philip Musyimi Mue, Anthony L. Isayi, Elisha Chepchieng Kiplagat, Hassan Mahmoud Haji, Fredrick Tureisa Lekesike, Mwangi Muthee, Neddy Atieno Okoth, Ali Amour, Titus Kasuve, Richard Omwela, Bobby Ogola and J.J. Masiga.

At least Sh430 million has been disbursed to the FKF since 2019, with a probe launched into how the funds have been used.

The FKF secretariat officials sent packing by CS Amina Mohamed are Nick Mwendwa (chairperson), Doris Petra (deputy chairperson), Michael Ouma, Anthony Makau, Chris Amimo, Nabea Mureithi, Davies Chege, David Bunei, Gabriel Mghendi, Benard Lagat, Ahmed Qadar Mohamed Dabar, Joseph Andere, Tony Kweya, Margaret Omondi, Barry Otieno (CEO) and Christine Ojode.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


FKF delegates support decision to deny Murang’a Seal’s request for Hussein Mohamed at AGM, citing his lack of official registration despite club endorsement. Delegates...

FKF Premier League

Hussein Mohammed will be the representative of Murang’a SEAL at the FKF Annual General Meeting. The Premier League club has made it clear that...


World football governing body Fifa has suspended Kenya and Zimbabwe over government interference At a press conference held on Thursday, Infantino confirmed the development....

FKF Premier League

AFC Leopards registered their third win of the season after beating Nairobi City Stars 1-0 in Wednesday’s FKF Premier League match at Nyayo Stadium....