Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

FKF Premier League

Vihiga United 2-2 AFC Leopards: Amos Kigadi’s late equalizer denies Ingwe

Ingwe thought they had collected maximum points until Kigadi headed past goalkeeper Bakame to tie the scores

Amos Kigadi bagged a late equalizer as Vihiga United came from behind to snatch a 2-2 against AFC Leopards at the Bukhungu Stadium.

The hosts’ started by taking the game to AFC Leopards but the latter’s keeper had an easy time in containing the first shot. 

Ingwe responded immediately with an attack, but their efforts were thwarted after forward Wayi Yeka rattled the crossbar as he connected onto a Brian Marita’s shot.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Ingwe would then break the ice at the seventh minute when Whyvonne Isuzarose to head in delivery from Brian Marita. Minutes later, Vihiga’s keeper Mike Matasio had to produce a brilliant save to stop Yeka from notching the second goal. The forward had been set up by Vincent Oburu after a counterattack.

Vihiga coach Mike Mururi was forced into making an early substitution after defender Mophat Liuva was forced out due to an injury. David Kavaji was introduced to fill the slot.

At the 31st minute, Amos Kigadi was brought down inside the box prompting the referee to award a penalty. Chris Masinza beat AFC Leopards keeper from the spot to level the scores.

Four minutes to the break, AFC Leopards restored their lead. Marita once again created the chance and Isuza’s header ensured they side went to the break leading 2-1. In the final half, Ingwe coach Cassa Mbungo introduced Aziz Okaka, Salim Abdallah and Eugene Mukangula.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

As Mbungo charges thought they had three points in the bag, Kigadi headed past Bakame to tie the scores at 2-2 in the 92nd minute.

The draw left AFC Leopards on 20 points while Vihiga United has 19.
Vihiga United XI: Mike Matasio, Smith Ogutu, Dennis Ombeva, Mophat Liuva, Bernard Ochieng’, Victor Ademba, Stephen Wakanya, Kelvin Muhanji, Chris Masinza, Dennis Wafula and Amos Kigadi.

Subs: Caleb Wamalwa, David Khavaji, Zablon Khaemba, Patrick Okullo, Michael Isabwa, Imbunya and Amos Kyambadde.

AFC Leopads XI: Eric Bakame, Soter Kayumba, Isaac Kipyegon, Joshua Mawira, Oruchum Christopher, David Ochieng, Brian Marita, Whyvnne Isuza, Wayi Yeka, Eugene Mukangula, and Vincent Oburu.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Subs: Jairus Adira, Salim Abdallah, Aziz Okaka, Kaheza Marcel, Saad Mousa, Clark Achuka and Dennis Sikhayi. Article from

You May Also Like